Mad World.

So, I know that this is a very controversial topic and not everyone likes to go into detail about this tragic subject. But it has been on my mind a lot recently and I just want to address the subject and inform you all of my views.

Firstly, I want to say RIP to the victims of ISIS. We were all made aware of these brutal killings by the media, and I’m praying for the future victims of ISIS and to all the families of the unfortunate victims. No-one deserves this. This fear of a fundamentalist terrorist group, this tragedy that families have to experience. These families will never see their sons again. Will never invite them over for a Sunday dinner, will never have the regular phone calls. All of these simple things that we all take for granted, such as seeing our loved ones wake up in a morning or talking to them on the phone; these families will never experience these privileges again.

I, along with the rest of the world, prays that this stops soon. It is cruel. Religions are supposed to be peaceful, but they’re instead turning into a conflict. However, this terrorist group and others such as Al Queda are giving a bad name to the rest of Islam. These fundamentalist groups are a minority of the Muslim population, which some people are forgetting. A majority of Islam do practice their religion peacefully which people need to remember.

ISIS may be using their religion as a sort of ‘cultural defence’. They may be feeling attacked by the western world, so are fighting back. This is what they are claiming. They claim that they are carrying out these brutal killings because of the Western World, and how we are making them feel. This is no reason to be beheading people.

Do you know what I wish for? For people to be able to practice their religions in peace with no-one commenting or trying to make them change their views. I wish that we could all just be ourselves with no discrimination or prejudice. I wish that there were no wars, and we could all live in peaceful harmony. I wish that the world was tranquil.

This isn’t going to happen. Now matter how much I pray, and how much I wish, this is never going to come true. That is an ideal world, but I am not so naive that I believe that it could possibly happen. There are always going to be marginalised groups who fight the rest of the world. There is always going to be conflict, and we are never going to achieve an ideal world with world peace. And that terrifies me.

There is always going to murderers, rapists, paedophiles, stalkers and terrorists. We just have to accept this fact and just try and prevent it as much as we can. I don’t want to live in fear anymore. I don’t want to walk down the street and have to have my phone in my hand, ready to phone 999 in case someone follows me or tries to kill me. I don’t want to be afraid of the world and be afraid to be walking on my own in the dark. I don’t want to be scared.

No-one is born hating another person because of his colour of his skin or his background or his religion. People must learn to hate and if they can learn to hate they can be taught to love. For love comes more naturally to the human heart than its opposite.” – Nelson Mandela. 

Leave a Reply

